Michigan Marijuana Licensing FAQ
Learn who qualifies for a Michigan Marijuana License. From background check to working capital requirements for Cannabis Grow, Processing, Provisioning, Safety and Compliance, or Transportation companies.
Clients will need to complete an authorization form, once complete we are able to submit documents on behalf of our clients.
Yes, we maintain a list of municipalities that have opted in for each license type, the number of licenses they have opted in for, and a number of licenses already granted. We do not publish the list to the site. For more information please contact us.
All applications are reviewed by the Marijuana Regulatory Agency. The Board will reject applicants who:
- Are a non-tribal elected official anywhere the United States
- Are employed by the state of Michigan
- Were convicted of a Controlled Substance misdemeanor in the last five years
- Were convicted of a felony within the last ten years
- Have previously submitted a false application
- Are a Member of the Medical Marihuana Licensing Board
- Resided in Michigan for the two years prior to the application date. This requirement does not apply after June 30, 2018.
The Marijuana Regulatory Agency may also reject application who:
- Do not have the financial wherewithal to main working capital and insurance
- Have filed bankruptcy in the past seven years
- Have a criminal history excluding traffic Violations
- Is involved in litigation for its business practices
- Has a history of non-compliance with Michigan Regulators
All licenses need to be renewed annually.
The application process is broken down into 2 steps, Pre-Qualification and License Qualification.
The Pre-Qualification Step does not require a physical location. This step is to vet the applicant which requires a full background check and an application fee of $600.
During the License Qualification Step, the Licensing board ensures the facility and location meets the requirements of the municipality. Once approved, a Regulatory assessment fee needs to be paid based on the license issued:
- Class A Grow License: $10,000
- Class B Grow License: $10,000 to $66,000
- Class C Grow License: $10,000 to $66,000
- Processor License: $10,000 to $66,000
- Transporter License: $10,000 to $66,000
- Provisioning Center License: $10,000 to $66,000
- Safety Compliance Facilities: No Fee
Under most circumstances grower, processor, and provisioning center licenses can operate in the same facility.
Licensees need to demonstrate ongoing working capital of:
- Class A Grow License: $150,000
- Class B Grow License: $300,000
- Class C Grow License: $500,000
- Processor License: $300,000
- Transporter: $200,000
- Provisioning Center: $300,000
- Safety Compliance Facility: $200,000
Yes. The law allows individuals and companies to have more than one Class C License which allows the grower up to 1,500 plants per license. With stacked licenses, it is the responsibility of the Licensee to ensure the proper tagging and accounting is applied to the proper license.